March 20, 2022

Match Report: Trinity entertain in the sun!

Matty Ashurst marked his 150th Wakefield appearance with a try as an impressive performance on the road proved too much for Daryl Powell’s Warrington side.

Ashurst was one of six try-scorers for the Trin, who registered back-to-back wins in Super League for the first time in 2022.

The influential Mason Lino posted 18 points points, with a stunning second-half try and kicking record of seven from seven.

Warrington were fast out of the traps, scoring on their first possession as the pacey Matty Ashton accepted an early invitation to race away and score for the hosts.

However, Trinity hit back shortly after as Tinirau Arona’s smart offload enabled Liam Hood to muscle his way over the line for our first try of the game.

Toby King restored Warrington’s lead, running onto a clever short kick by George Williams, before Jacob Miller set up the tireless Jordy Crowther for a close-range try shortly after.

On the back of further Trinity pressure, we edged ahead for the first time when slick passing on the left sent teenage centre Corey Hall clear in the corner. A try to look out for on Trinity TV on Monday!

However, Wire were back level when they capitalised on a Trinity error allowing Danny Walker to cross.

Despite that, Trinity were back in front after the break as Ashurst timed his run to perfection to collect Miller’s pass and crash over on his 150th club appearance. 

Josh Thewlis then touched down in the corner, but in the end that proved only a consolation as Man of the Match Lino danced through to extend Trinity’s advantage and Warrington’s hopes of a comeback were completely squashed when on-loan fullback Morgan Escare raced away to add gloss onto an impressive away victory!

Trinity are back at the Halliwell Jones Stadium next Sunday for the sixth round of the Challenge Cup! Tickets and travel are available in the Ridings Club Shop!

Warrington: Ratchford, Thewlis, Mata’utia, King, Ashton, Widdop, Williams, Hughes, Walker, Cooper, Currie, Holmes, Davis.

Interchanges: Philbin, Clark, Longstaff, Butler.

Wakefield: Escare, Kay, Lyne, Hall, Johnstone, Miller, Lino, Crowther, Pitts, Ashurst, Fifita, Arona, Hood.

Interchanges: Whitbread, Batchelor, Battye, Tanginoa.

Referee: Robert Hicks