July 22, 2017

Match Preview: Wakefield Trinity v St Helens

On Sunday, Wakefield Trinity will welcome St Helens to the Beaumont Legal Stadium for the final home game of the regular season, kick-off 3pm.

A win for Trinity would secure top four heading into the Super 8s competition, there is also a possibility for Trinity to go into third. St Helens come to the Beaumont Legal Stadium looking to narrow the gap between sixth position and the top four.

Both sides previously met at the start of the season in March, it was Trinity’s first win of the season and defeats to Hull FC and Huddersfield Giants. That fixture at the Totally Wicked Stadium so Mason Caton-Brown get his first Betfred Super League try in Wakefield colours, Trinity went on to win the game by four points.

Chris Chester has made two changes to his 19 that got the win away at Widnes last Friday night; Reece Lyne who makes a return following a suspension. New signing James Hasson comes straight into contention after signed a deal at Trinity over the weekend. The players to miss out on selection are Max Jowitt and Anthony England.

St Helens go into Sunday’s fixture on the back of two big wins; at home against Hull FC and at home against Catalans Dragons. They currently sit in sixth position and a win on Sunday could see them with 25 points.

Saints’ Head Coach, Justin Holbrook has named and unchanged side that got the victory over Catalans Dragons, Kyle Amor is expected to be fit after a missing last weekend with a hamstring injury.

Trinity 19-man squad: Chris Annakin, Tinirau Arona, Joe Arundel, Matty Ashurst, Mason Caton-Brown, David Fifita, Liam Finn, Scott Grix, Dean Hadley, James Hasson, Keegan Hirst, Craig Huby, Ben Jones-Bishop, Danny Kirmond, Reece Lyne, Bill Tupou, Adam Walker, Sam Williams, Kyle Wood

Saints 19-man squad: Jonny Lomax, Tommy Makinson, Ryan Morgan, Mark Percival, Theo Fages, Alex Walmsley, James Roby, Kyle Amor, Jon Wilkin, Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Luke Douglas, Luke Thompson, Tommy Lee, Dominique Peyroux, Morgan Knowles, Danny Richardson, Regan Grace, Matty Lees, Zeb Taia.