September 14, 2017

Match Preview – Hull FC vs Wakefield Trinity

Round six of the Betfred Super 8s will see Wakefield Trinity make the journey to the KCOM Stadium to take on Hull FC this evening, kick-off 8pm.

Trinity will need a win this evening to keep the top four dreams alive, a defeat will all but end the top four journey for Wakefield. If Trinity do get the two points, it will then go down to the final game of the Super 8s at the Beaumont Legal Stadium next weekend against Wigan Warriors.

Wakefield will go into tonight’s game on the back of a gut wrenching defeat last Thursday after St Helens clinched the two points in the dying seconds of the game. It has also been a disappointing time regarding results for Hull after losing both Super 8s fixtures against Wigan Warriors and Leeds Rhinos following their win in the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup Final at Wembley.

Hull will be looking for a response this evening; they currently sit one point about Trinity and two points ahead of Saints who are in sixth spot. A defeat this evening will see them drop out of the top four.

In previous meetings between both teams, Hull have come out on top after a 12-8 win at the Beaumont Legal Stadium in the opening game of the season. They also took the two points at the KCOM Stadium at the end of June.

Chris Chester has only made the one change to his squad following last week’s defeat. Dean Hadley misses this evening through suspension; the 25-year old is also unable to face his parent club Hull FC. Kyle Wood comes straight into contention after missing the past two fixtures with an ankle injury. This evening could also see Ben Jones-Bishop get his 100th career try; the winger is three tries away from this achievement.

Hull FC Head Coach, Lee Radford could see the return of Fetuli Talanoa from an elbow injury. This evening will see the final time Mahe Fonua, Steve Michaels and Gareth Ellis will pull on the Hull shirts at the KCOM Stadium as they will depart the club at the end of this season.

Trinity 19-man squad: Chris Annakin, Tinirau Arona, Joe Arundel, Matty Ashurst, Mason Caton-Brown, Anthony England, David Fifita, Liam Finn, Scott Grix, James Hasson, Keegan Hirst, Craig Huby, Ben Jones-Bishop, Danny Kirmond, Reece Lyne, Jacob Miller, Tyler Randell, Bill Tupou, Kyle Wood

Hull 19-man squad: Jamie Shaul, Mahe Fonua, Carlos Tuimavave, Josh Griffin, Fetuli Talanoa, Albert Kelly, Marc Sneyd, Scott Taylor, Danny Houghton, Liam Watts, Mark Minichiello, Gareth Ellis, Jake Connor, Jordan Thompson, Danny Washbrook, Steve Michaels, Sike Manu, Josh Bowden, Brad Fash.