October 24, 2022

Foundation host most inclusive awards ever

Wakefield Trinity Community Foundation hosted their most inclusive awards night of all time, as 150 people from our PDRL, LDSL and Ladies’ sides joined together to celebrate a memorable 2022.

Following heaps of success and spirit shown across the board over the course of the year, the Foundation’s teams all came together to show why community sport is so important.

Following a two-course dinner at the start of the night, our Learning Disability side opened proceedings, claiming their awards, one by one, with a round of applause from the rest of the room.

LDSL has come into its own over the past couple of years, and 2022 was no different. After countless festivals over multiple weekends, our Wakefield Trinity side has done us proud this year.

Physical Disability Rugby League was next, with countless successes being counted over the past year. The sport that needs no introduction, PDRL has been a constant figure in the Foundation over the past few years, reaching three Grand Finals in a row as well as claiming the League Leaders’ Shield in 2022.

With a World Cup on the horizon, head coach Lee Whiteley started off my congratulating the players who head on international duty this Autumn, with five Trinity players heading to the England camp, while Whiteley and Emma Kirke represent New Zealand in a non-playing capacity.

Ben Reynolds and John Humphries were the award winners as they both claimed ‘Most Improved’ and ‘Players’ layer’, respectively. While, after an unbelievable campaign, which saw him an ever-present figure in the Trinity side, Alex Dickinson, won the 2022 Player of Steel.

Finally, the night ended with the Women’s team. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the season we wanted, however, the spirit shown by every single player who finished the campaign was sensational and should hold their heads up high.

Boasting a women’s set-up is an extremely important part of Rugby League, and to have so many young players coming through the ranks at the club is a special moment.

This was exemplified by the first winner of the night. Following a terrific campaign, which saw her play in two different positions, Abbie Millward claimed ‘Young Player of the Year.’

Coming into her own in 2022, Ellie Brown was issued the ‘Most Improved’ award after an ever-consistent campaign, while ‘Players’ Player’ was given to Amy Bennett, who lit up the BWSL 2 with her electrifying pace and unbelievable skill.

Olivia Cummins was next up as she claimed ‘Coach’s Player of the Year’ following a terrific campaign, while Cassy Lawson won the final award of the night, ‘Woman of Steel,’ completing a great night of celebration.

Thank you to all of our sponsors, players, staff, volunteers and fans for your support and hard work over 2022.

Sponsored by XBM Ltd & Medequip Assistive Technology.