November 5, 2018

Outstanding Night for the Community Celebration Awards Evening

Saturday evening saw the third Annual Community Awards Dinner hosted here at the Mobile Rocket Stadium.

A full venue of guests from local Ambassador clubs, community partners and groups attending for the celebration evening.

The night kicked off with formal welcomes and thanks to all the attendees, with an overview presentation showcasing the achievements Wakefield Trinity community programmes throughout 2018.

During the evening, a number of presentations were made which included the inaugural Physical Disability team awards, along with the Ambassador Club awards and Wakefield Trinity Ladies Head Coach Wayne Hirst being presented with the 2018 League Leaders shield.

Wakefield Trinity Chairman; Michael Carter was in attendance and commented, “I would personally like to thank each and every one of tonight’s attendees for their appreciation throughout the evening.

Each year the Ambassador programme grows from strength to strength and we are eternally grateful for your continued support and friendships. Grassroots in the community is the lifeline of our club and we always try to give back as much as we can to our great Ambassador clubs and partners. Congratulations to all the award winners, it has been a really enjoyable evening and a good laugh for us all. We look forward to growing more and more over the next few years”.

Host for the evening; James Stephenson said, “We really look forward to this event each year so we can all celebrate together as one. Our Ambassador clubs have backed us now for three years since we officially launched the programme and I can’t thank them enough for all that they do.

“To be able to showcase them on stage and present the club awards is very rewarding, and it was great to see everybody having such a good time throughout the night. It also gives us the opportunity to broadcast our achievements, which a lot of people aren’t aware of; also we can have a drink and good time together!”

Ambassador Club Awards:

Special Recognition Award         –                              Barry Haigh / Dave Horsley

Most Valuable Ambassador        –                              Gordie Long

Ambassador Club Person             –                             Mick Greensmith

Ambassador Club of the Year     –                              Sharlston Rovers

PDRL awards:

Coaches Player  –              Darren Dean

Players Player –                 John Humphries Jnr

Most Committed –           Connor Lynes

Volunteer –                        Alex Dickenson & Ben Nicholson

We would like to thanks Barclays for their continued support along with the Community Trust’s principal partner; Cuniffe Design and our special guests for the evening; RFL vice President Pat Crawshaw and Richard Shaw-Wright.

If you would like to become an official Ambassador Club then please contact

All Photos courtesy of Mike Robey Photography.