June 15, 2017

Match Preview – Salford v Trinity

Wakefield Trinity will travel to the AJ Bell Stadium this evening to face Salford Red Devils in the Quarter-Final of the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup, kick-off 8pm.

It will be the second game in 11 days that both sides face one another, the last time out was in the Betfred Super League and it proved to be a tight contest but early tries from Mason Caton-Brown and Reece Lyne secured the 34-24 victory.

Since the fixture, both sides have suffered defeats in the league. Trinity came up short against local side Leeds Rhinos on Saturday evening at the Beaumont Legal Stadium which saw us move down to fifth spot in the table.

Salford who have the home advantage this evening have done exceptionally well this season, from facing relegation in the Million Pound Game last season to now be sitting in the second spot of the table have gone on to lose two successive games. The first one was against Trinity and then last week they lost out to Hull FC at home.

This will be the second season on the bounce that Trinity will take part in the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup Quarter-Final, having beaten Huddersfield Giants last season to reach the Semi-Final.

Unfortunately Trinity have been hit with a number of injuries, three changes have been made to the 19-man squad. Both James Batchelor and David Fifita have been ruled out through injuries, also missing out on selection is Max Jowitt, they have been replaced by Jordan Crowther, Danny Kirmond and Reece Lyne who missed last week’s fixture with Leeds Rhinos.

Salford head coach Ian Watson has only made the one change to his side, Mark Flanaghan comes into the 19-man squad to replace Daniel Murray.

Trinity 19-man squad: Mitch Allgood, Chris Annakin, Joe Arundel, Matty Ashurst, Mason Caton-Brown, Jordan Crowther, Anthony England, Liam Finn, Scott Grix, Dean Hadley, Keegan Hirst, Craig Huby, Ben Jones-Bishop, Danny Kirmond, Reece Lyne, Mikey Sio, Bill Tupou, Sam Williams, Kyle Wood

Salford 19-man squad: Ben Murdoch-Masila, Craig Kopczak, Gareth O’Brien, George Griffin, Jake Bibby, James Hasson, Junior Sa’u, Kris Welham, Kriss Brining, Lama Tasi, Logan Tomkins, Mark Flanagan, Michael Dobson, Niall Evalds, Olsi Krasniqi, Rob Lui, Ryan Lannon, Todd Carney, Weller Hauraki.