September 1, 2017

Match Preview – Salford Red Devils vs Wakefield Trinity

Wakefield Trinity will make the journey across the M62 this evening to face Salford Red Devils in Round 4 of the Betfred Super League Super 8s, kick-off 8pm.

After a break in fixtures last weekend due to the Challenge Cup Final, Trinity will head to Salford to get back to winning ways after losing to local rivals Castleford Tigers on August 17.

A win tonight would keep Trinity in fourth spot, one point behind Hull FC in third spot. However, a defeat could run the risk of dropping down to fifth if either St Helens or Wigan Warriors get the win tonight.

After a successful season for Salford who found themselves in the Million Pound Game last season have lost their past three Super 8s fixtures against Hull FC, Castleford Tigers and Wigan Warriors. Salford currently sit in seventh spot on 26 points.

It will be a fourth time that both sides face each other this season with two Super League fixtures and one Ladbrokes Challenge Cup tie. Trinity got the wins in the league games but Salford came out on top in the cup game to go through to the Semi-Final.

Trinity head coach, Chris Chester has made three changes to his side that faced Castleford Tigers two weeks ago. New signing Tyler Randell will come into contention this evening; he will be joined by Joe Arundel who makes a return from injury and James Hasson.

The three players to miss out on selection are Kyle Wood who picked up an injury, Max Jowitt and Sam Williams who also suffered a knock.

Salford’s head coach, Ian Waton has also made changes to his side for this evenings clash. Kris Welham returns to the side after missing the past two fixtures, Niall Evalds and Ben Murdoch-Masila miss out.

Trinity 19-Man Squad: Chris Annakin, Tinirau Arona, Joe Arundel, Matty Ashurst, Mason Caton-Brown, Anthony England, David Fifita, Liam Finn, Scott Grix, Dean Hadley, James Hasson, Keegan Hirst, Craig Huby, Ben Jones-Bishop, Danny Kirmond, Reece Lyne, Jacob Miller, Tyler Randell, Bill Tupou

Salford 19-Man Squad: Jake Bibby, Kriss Brining, Todd Carney, George Griffin, Weller Hauraki, Gregory Johnson, Josh Jones, Craig Kopczak, Olsi Krasniqi, Ryan Lannon, Robert Lui, Tyrone McCarthy, Gareth O’Brien, Junior Sa’u, Logan Tomkins, Manu Vatuvei, Adam Walne, Jordan Walne, Kris Welham.