May 12, 2017

Match Preview – Dewsbury Rams v Wakefield Trinity

Wakefield Trinity will get their Ladbrokes Challenge Cup campaign underway against the Dewsbury Rams on Friday May 12; kick-off 8pm at the Tetley’s Stadium.

Trinity enter the Challenge Cup in the sixth round due to last season’s top eight finish. Chris Chester’s men will be hopeful of going on another cup run after reaching last year’s semi-finals.

Dewsbury entered the competition in the fourth round and have so far dispatched Gateshead Thunder and Batley Bulldogs. However, their league form hasn’t been as impressive, winning only one in their 12 fixtures so far.

The Tetley’s Stadium will be a familiar ground for some of the visiting players, Dewsbury Rams are Trinity’s dual-registration club and some Wakefield first-teamers have played for the Rams this season.

Chester has made four changes to the squad that beat Leigh Centurions last week. Dean Hadley misses with a broken cheekbone, while Danny Kirmond, Ben Jones-Bishop and Craig Huby also come out.

Anthony England returns after failing a head test last week. Mikey Sio comes in; he was brought into the 17-man squad against Leigh last Saturday. Jordan Crowther and Ashley Gibson also make returns to the 19-man squad.

Neil Kelly has named multiple changes to the squad that suffered defeat to Halifax last week. This includes Trinity players Max Jowitt and Anthony Walker coming out of the Dewsbury squad as they come up against Wakefield.

Trinity 19-man squad: Tinirau Arona, Joe Arundel, Matty Ashurst, James Batchelor, Mason Caton-Brown, Jordan Crowther, Anthony England, David Fifita, Liam Finn, Ashley Gibson, Scott Grix, Keegan Hirst, Reece Lyne, Jacob Miller, Mikey Sio, Bill Tupou, Anthony Walker, Sam Williams, Kyle Wood.

Dewsbury 19-man squad: Luke Adamson, Tobias Adamson, Aaron Brown, Jason Crookes, Brandon Douglas, Lewis Fairhurst, James Glover, Thomas Hemingway, Daniel Igbinedion, Andrew Kain, Dale Morton, Aaron Ollett, Jode Sheriffe, Dominic Speakman, Matichell Stringer, Paul Sykes, Antony Tonks, Lucas Walshaw, Robbie Ward.