Trinity v Leigh Match Preview

23rd March, 2017

This evening we will welcome Leigh Centurions to the Beaumont Legal Stadium for the sixth round of the Betfred Super League season, kick-off 8pm.

Trinity will be looking to make amends after the sour defeat to local rivals Leeds Rhinos last Friday night. Head Coach, Chris Chester has made two changes to his side which will see the return of Keegan Hirst from injury; he could be in contention of making his Super League debut. The prop has been named alongside youngster James Batchelor and will replace Mikey Sio and Mason Caton-Brown.

Leigh, who were promoted to the Super League this season, could find themselves moving up the table to top four if they win tonight. Currently sitting in sixth spot on six points, the Centurions will go into tonight’s fixture on the back of two successful wins against Huddersfield Giants and Warrington Wolves.

They have also made two changes to their side, with Martyn Ridyard and Glenn Stewart missing out. They have been replaced with Curtis Naughton and Dayne Weston.

The last time the both sides met was in 2015 when Leigh made the trip to the Beaumont Legal Stadium in the Challenge Cup when Leigh got the win by six points. The second meeting was later that season when Trinity made the trip to the Leigh Sports Village during the Super 8s Qualifiers which saw Trinity win by one point.

Tickets are still on sale for the fixture at game day prices, they can be bought from the club shop in the Ridings Centre until 4pm and from 6pm at the ticket kiosk on Doncaster Road.

Trinity 19- man squad: Mitch Allgood, Tinirau Arona, Joe Arundel, Matty Ashurst, James Batchelor, David Fifita, Liam Finn, Scott Grix, Dean Hadley, Keegan Hirst, Craig Huby, Tom Johnstone, Ben Jones-Bishop, Danny Kirmond, Jacob Miller, Bill Tupou, Anthony Walker, Sam Williams, Kyle Wood

Centurions 19 – man squad: Curtis Naughton, Mitch Brown, Adam Higson, Ben Crooks, Matty Dawson, Josh Drinkwater, Gareth Hock, Micky Higham, Dayne Weston, Harrison Hansen, Eloi Pelissier, Danny Tickle, Atelea Vea, Ryan Hampshire, Ben Reynolds, James Green, Sam Hopkins, Jamie Acton, Lachlan Burr