August 10, 2017

Match Preview – Wakefield Trinity v Leeds Rhinos

The second round of the Super 8s will see Leeds Rhinos visiting the Beaumont Legal Stadium this evening, kick-off 8pm.

Trinity will be looking at making amends by getting back to winning ways after losing out to local side Huddersfield Giants six days ago. Tonight’s fixture will be the second of three local derby’s in 14 days for Wakefield.

Currently sitting in sixth spot, a win for Wakefield this evening will see a move up to fourth and one point ahead of St Helens. A victory would also see Wakefield go five points clear of Huddersfield Giants and Wigan Warriors who are both on 23 points and sitting in seventh and eighth.

Leeds Rhinos will be looking at closing the gap on leader Castleford Tigers; a win tonight would also see the visitors go five points clear of third. The Rhinos go into tonight’s game on the back of an impressive victory of Wigan Warriors at the Headingley Carnegie Stadium last weekend.

Both fixtures this season between Trinity and the Rhinos have come as a loss for Wakefield, it was a close contest at the Beaumont Legal Stadium back in June but Leeds clinched the two points in the dying seconds.

Chris Chester has made two changes to his side that was named against Huddersfield Giants last week. David Fifita has been named; the prop was called up last minute against the Giants after passing a late fitness test. He has been joined in the squad by Max Jowitt who replaces Mason Caton-Brown. Tonight’s game could see Matty Ashurst make his 200th Career appearance if he makes the 17-man squad.

The Rhinos will see the return of Rob Burrows this evening after missing the last nine games with a shoulder injury; Mitch Garbutt has also been named in the 19-man squad.

Tickets are still available for the fixture; they can be bought from the ticket kiosk from 4.45pm this evening. They are priced at Adults £24, Concessions (aged 65 & over) £18 and Juniors (aged 16 & under) £5.

Trinity Squad: Chris Annakin, Tinirau Arona, Joe Arundel, Matty Ashurst,  Anthony England, David Fifita, Liam Finn, Scott Grix, Dean Hadley, James Hasson, Keegan Hirst, Ben Jones-Bishop, Max Jowitt, Danny Kirmond, Reece Lyne, Jacob Miller, Bill Tupou, Sam Williams, Kyle Wood

Rhinos Squad: Ashton Golding, Tom Briscoe, Kallum Watkins, Joel Moon, Ryan Hall, Danny McGuire, Rob Burrow, Matt Parcell, Adam Cuthbertson, Jamie Jones-Buchanan, Carl Ablett, Stevie Ward, Liam Sutcliffe, Brett Delaney, Brad Singleton, Mitch Garbutt, Jimmy Keinhorst, Anthony Mullally, Jordan Lilley