Match Preview: Wakefield Trinity v Hull FC

10th February, 2017

Wakefield Trinity will welcome Hull FC to the Beaumont Legal Stadium this Sunday, February 12; kick-off 3pm in our opening game of the 2017 Betfred Super League season.

Head Coach, Chris Chester has included four of his new recruits in his 19-man squad. Scott Grix, Craig Huby, Sam Williams and Kyle Wood are all in contention of making their Super League debut in Trinity colours.

Chris Annakin has also been named in the 19-man squad after being sidelined for three months following an injury. David Fifita joins him after missing most of pre season after having surgery on both thumbs.

Hull FC, Head Coach, Lee Radford has also named a strong side for the visit to the Beaumont Legal Stadium. New additions; Albert Kelly, Josh Griffin and Jake Connor have been named in the 19-man squad alongside Captain, Gareth Ellis who hasn’t featured for the Airlie Birds since the Super 8s fixture against Warrington Wolves.

Both teams go into the game on the back of a successful pre-season. Wakefield Trinity won four out of five pre-season friendlies against Leeds Rhinos, Castleford Tigers, Dewsbury Rams and Sheffield Eagles, whilst Hull FC won two out of three against Toronto Wolfpack and Doncaster.

In the previous four meetings between both sides, the Airlie Birds come out on top. Our last victory over Hull FC was back in July 2015 with a 26-16 win.

Tickets are still on sale for the fixture and can be purchased from the club shop in the Ridings Centre and online. They go off sale at 5pm on Saturday, February 11 in-store and at midnight on Saturday online. The online sale is a super fast and easy process with an e-ticket being sent straight to your email.

Both teams are named blow:

Trinity 19-Man Squad: Chris Annakin, Tinirau Arona, Matty Ashurst, Jordan Crowther, Anthony England, David Fifita, Liam Finn, Scott Grix, Craig Huby, Ben Jones-Bishop, Tom Johnstone, Danny Kirmond, Reece Lyne, Jacob Miller, Mikey Sio, Bill Tupou, Anthony Walker, Sam Williams, Kyle Wood

Hull 19-Man Squad: Jamie Shaul, Mahe Fonua, Carlos Tuimavave, Josh Griffin, Fetuli Talanoa, Albert Kelly, Marc Sneyd, Scott Taylor, Danny Houghton, Liam Watts, Mark Minichiello, Gareth Ellis, Jake Connor, Chris Green, Jordan Thompson, Danny Washbrook, Steve Michaels, Sika Manu, Jansin Turgut